Prince George, Virginia
Reckless Driving Speeding Attorney

Have you been charged with reckless driving by speed in Prince George, Virginia?  Contact Prince George Reckless driving attorney Trey Mattox for a free consultation, email trey@mattoxlawpc.com or phone (804) 451-6033.

Prince George Reckless Driving Representation

From a traffic perspective, Prince George County is uniquely located at the intersection of three major Virginia roadways.  I typically see higher speed cases on Interstates 295 and 95 while route 460 is more known for its tricky speed traps.  In fact, the speed limit along these major thoroughfares in Prince George can vary from as low as 35 miles per hour up to 70 miles per hour.  Mattox Law represents individuals charged with traffic crimes and infractions throughout Prince George County including Fort Lee, Jordan Point, Garysville, New Bohemia, Disputanta, Burrowsville, and Newville.

What is Reckless Driving Speeding in Virginia?

The most common form of reckless driving in Virginia is reckless driving speeding.  If you received a reckless driving speeding ticket in Virginia it was most likely written under this code section.

Virginia Code 46.2-862:
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in    the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum    speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

Among the reckless driving code sections, § 46.2-862 is by far the most frequently used.  This statute strictly refers to the speed at which you are driving without any regard to your manner of driving.  This statute defines reckless driving in two ways.  The first section of this statute mandates that you can be convicted of reckless driving for traveling 20 or more miles per hour above the speed limit.  The second section defines reckless driving as driving over 80 miles per hour no matter the posted speed limit.  This section becomes particularly troublesome on highways with 70 mile per hour speed limits.  Therefore, according to the statute going as little as 11 miles per hour over the speed limit can result in a conviction for reckless driving.  

What is Reckless Driving; General Rule

If you have received a Virginia reckless driving ticket and the charge was unrelated to speed it likely will fall under reckless driving; general rule.  This statute allows a police officer to charge you with reckless driving if he believes you were driving in a manner that endangers life or property.  

Virginia Code 46.2-852:
Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.

The Reckless Driving Statutes

There are 14 different variations of reckless driving in Virginia.  The following is a list of the various reckless driving statutes:

·      § 46.2-852 Reckless driving; general rule

·      § 46.2-853 Driving vehicle which is not under control; faulty brakes.

·      § 46.2-854. Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve.

·      § 46.2-855. Driving with driver's view obstructed or control impaired.

·      § 46.2-856. Passing two vehicles abreast.

·      § 46.2-857. Driving two abreast in a single lane.

·      § 46.2-858. Passing at a railroad grade crossing.

·      § 46.2-859. Passing a stopped school bus; prima facie evidence.

·      § 46.2-860. Failing to give proper signals.

·      § 46.2-861. Driving too fast for highway and traffic conditions.

·      § 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.

·      § 46.2-863. Failure to yield right-of-way.

·      § 46.2-864. Reckless driving on parking lots, etc.

·      § 46.2-865. Racing; penalty.

Classification and Penalties

Virginia Code § 46.2-868 dictates that reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor and therefore carries extremely serious consequences.  In Virginia, a Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious category of misdemeanors and falls just one step short of a felony. Specifically, as a Class 1 misdemeanor, reckless driving carries a maximum one year in jail, $2500 fine, and 6 month license suspension.  Additionally,  there are many secondary consequences such as increased insurance premiums, points on your driving record, license suspensions due to accumulation of points, and failed criminal background checks.

Prince George General District Court

Prince George typically has traffic court on Mondays and Wednesdays of any given week with two different judges sitting each day.  Each judge is particular in what they like to do in certain situations and what they will and will not accept as evidence in a case.  Failure to properly follow the requirements each judge sets will often result in a conviction.  It is very important to retain an attorney familiar with each judge in order in ensure you get the best possible outcome for your case.  Below please find links to blog articles describing some of the mitigation evidence I use to defend my clients.  Please give me a call (804) 451-6033 or email trey@mattoxlawpc.com for addition suggestions on mitigation evidence for your Prince George traffic case.

Speedometer Calibration

Community Service

Driving school

It is also important to retain an attorney who has established a very good working relationship with the Prince George Commonwealth’s Attorney’s office.  The Commonwealth’s Attorney or prosecutor does not typically get involved in speeding or reckless driving charges; however, for more serious offense such as Driving on a Suspended License, DUI, or Possession of Marijuana, the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s office plays a prominent role.  It is extremely important to choose an attorney who is very familiar with the Commonwealth’s Attorney prosecuting your case.

If you have been pulled over in Prince George County please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.  I offer free consultations and am available by phone (804) 451-6033 or email trey@mattoxlawpc.com

Prince George General and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District
Combined Courts 6th Judicial District of Virginia

Clerk
Ms Denise Riddle Covington
email: DCovington@courts.state.va.us

 Phone/Fax
Phone: (804) 733-2781, (804) 733-2783
Fax: 804-733-2678

Clerk's Office Hours
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Address
6601 Courts Drive
P. O. Box 187
Prince George, VA 23875-0187

General District Judges

  • Hon. Bruce A. Clark Jr., Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Stephen D. Bloom, Chief Judge
  • Hon. C. Ridley Bain
  • Hon. H. Lee Townsend III

Prince George Case Results

Related Articles

What if I argued with the officer?; How many points is reckless driving?; Mecklenburg, Virginia Reckless Driving Attorney; Can I hire an out of state attorney for my case in Virginia?; Will I lose my CDL for a reckless driving conviction?; How will a reckless driving conviction affect my security clearance?Hanover County traffic defenseChesterfield, Virginia speeding lawyer; How many points will go onto my license in my home state?Richmond, Virginia reckless driving attorneyHenrico reckless driving attorney; Do I have to testify in court?; What is the worse case scenario?