Henrico County Virginia Reckless Driving Speeding Traffic Attorney  

Have you been charged with reckless driving by speed in Henrico, Virginia?  Contact Henrico reckless driving attorney Trey Mattox for a free consultationemail trey@mattoxlawpc.com or phone (804) 451-6033.

Henrico Reckless Driving Representation

Just outside of Richmond, Henrico County primary highways, Interstate 64, Interstate 95, and Interstate 295 account for the large portion of the traffic related offenses.  Just a short drive down Parham Road, Mattox Law is ready to help guide you through complicated legal process with knowledgeable representation with the Henrico courts.  I handle a variety of traffic related offenses including DUI/DWIreckless drivingspeedingdriving on a suspended license, and possession of marijuana.  Mattox Law represents clients charged with traffic crimes and infractions throughout Henrico County including Tuckahoe, Sandston, Chamberlayne, Varina, Wyndham, Montrose, Innsbrook, Short Pump, Highland Springs, East Highland Park, Fair Oaks, Dumbarton, Lakeside, and Glen Allen.

What is Reckless Driving Speeding in Virginia?

The most common form of reckless driving in Virginia is reckless driving speeding.  If you received a reckless driving speeding ticket in Virginia it was most likely written under this code section.

Virginia Code 46.2-862:
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

Among the reckless driving code sections, § 46.2-862 is by far the most frequently used.  This statute strictly refers to the speed at which you are driving without any regard to your manner of driving.  This statute defines reckless driving in two ways.  The first section of this statute mandates that you can be convicted of reckless driving for traveling 20 or more miles per hour above the speed limit.  The second section defines reckless driving as driving over 80 miles per hour no matter the posted speed limit.  This section becomes particularly troublesome on highways with 70 mile per hour speed limits.  Therefore, according to the statute going as little as 11 miles per hour over the speed limit can result in a conviction for reckless driving. 

Classification and Penalties

Virginia Code § 46.2-868 dictates that reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor and therefore carries extremely serious consequences.  In Virginia, a Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious category of misdemeanors and falls just one step short of a felony.  Specifically, as a Class 1 misdemeanor, reckless driving carries a maximum one year in jail, $2500 fine, and 6 month license suspension.  Additionally,  there are many secondary consequences such as increased insurance premiums, points on your driving record, license suspensions due to accumulation of points, and failed criminal background checks.

The Reckless Driving Statutes

There are 14 different variations of reckless driving in Virginia.  The following is a list of the various reckless driving statutes:

·      § 46.2-852 Reckless driving; general rule

·      § 46.2-853 Driving vehicle which is not under control; faulty brakes.

·      § 46.2-854. Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve.

·      § 46.2-855. Driving with driver's view obstructed or control impaired.

·      § 46.2-856. Passing two vehicles abreast.

·      § 46.2-857. Driving two abreast in a single lane.

·      § 46.2-858. Passing at a railroad grade crossing.

·      § 46.2-859. Passing a stopped school bus; prima facie evidence.

·      § 46.2-860. Failing to give proper signals.

·      § 46.2-861. Driving too fast for highway and traffic conditions.

·      § 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.

·      § 46.2-863. Failure to yield right-of-way.

·      § 46.2-864. Reckless driving on parking lots, etc.

·      § 46.2-865. Racing; penalty.

What is Reckless Driving; General Rule

If you have received a Virginia reckless driving ticket and the charge was unrelated to speed it likely will fall under reckless driving; general rule.  This statute allows a police officer to charge you with reckless driving if he believes you were driving in a manner that endangers life or property.  

Virginia Code 46.2-852:
Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.

Henrico General District Court

Henrico General District Court consists of five different traffic courts.  This means there are five different judges with three different personalities.  Additionally there are a number of different commonwealths attorneys or prosecutors who handle traffic cases in Henrico.  In Henrico the prosecutors are typically involved in traffic matters.  It is important to retain an attorney who is familiar with the different personalities present in the Henrico court system.

Defending Your Case

It is absolutely vital to hire an attorney who is knowledgeable and experienced in Henrico County.  Each judge can be particular about the way he or she likes certain things completed and presented to the court.  I often have my client complete some of these items prior to court and it is important to ensure everything is completed properly.  Below please find links to blog articles describing some of the mitigation evidence I use to defend my clients.  Please give me a call or email for additional suggestions on mitigation evidence for your Henrico traffic case.

  • Speedometer Calibration - Speedometer calibrations are often the single most important piece of evidence I present while defending reckless driving cases.  It is extremely important to have your vehicle properly calibrated in order to ensure that it is admissible in court and can be as beneficial as possible to the outcome of your case.
  • Community Service - Community service can be a powerful piece of mitigation evidence used to help get the best possible result in court.  In some cases a judge will order the defendant to complete community service as a requirement for a reduction of the charged offense.  On other occasions, I will advise my clients to complete community service hours proactively in order to present the best case possible.
  • Driving school - Completion of a defensive driving course can be very valuable to the defense of a reckless driving charge.  Often completing the course prior to your scheduled court date can be a useful tool to get the best possible outcome for your case.  You must also be careful you choose the correct driving school for your individual case.  Driving courses can range in length from six hours up to twelve hours.

If you have been pulled over in Henrico County please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.  I offer free consultations and am available by email trey@mattoxlawpc.com or phone (804) 451-6033.

Henrico General District Court 14th Judicial District of Virginia

Clerk
Ms Linda Susan Knight

 Phone/Fax
Criminal/Traffic: (804) 501-4723
Civil: (804) 501-4727
Fax: Criminal/Traffic (804) 501-7388
Fax: Civil (804) 501-414

Clerk's Office Hours
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Address
P. O. Box 90775
4301 East Parham Road
Henrico, VA 23273-0775

General District Judges

  • Hon. B. Craig Dunkum, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. John K. Honey, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. L. Neil Steverson, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. George Barton Chucker, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Thomas O. Bondurant Jr.

Henrico Case Results

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the penalties for reckless driving in Virginia?Should I Take My Vehicle To Have The Speedometer Calibrated?Will Requesting A Continuance Have An Impact On My Case?Will I have to speak or testify in court?What Is Defective Equipment?Why Am I Charged With Reckless Driving If I Was Not Driving Recklessly?What is a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia?Hanover County traffic defenseWill Requesting A Continuance Have An Impact On My Case?Should I Take An 8-Hour or 12-Hour Defensive Driving Course?; Greensville, Virginia Speeding Lawyer