Dinwiddie County Virginia Reckless Driving Speeding Traffic Ticket Attorney

Dinwiddie County is uniquely located on Interstate 85 just south of the Interstate 95 and Interstate 85 interchange.   This section of Interstate 85 proves to be especially tricky to motorists unfamiliar with the area.  The speed limit on Interstate 85 through Dinwiddie ranges from 55 miles per hour to 70 miles per hour.  Many of our clients find themselves in the unfortunate position of missing one sign and unintentionally speeding.  Both Dinwiddie Sheriff’s deputies and Virginia State Troopers patrol this section of Interstate 85 heavily and routinely issue tickets to individuals in this situation.   Fortunately, the judge in Dinwiddie will take into consideration the direction of travel and whether the speed limit was climbing or falling.  If the individual was traveling north and thus through progressively slower speed zones, this judge will often give a little bit of a better break.  Therefore, it is very important to pick a lawyer who is very familiar with Dinwiddie and the judge’s peculiarities.  Mattox Law represents clients charged with traffic crimes and infractions throughout Dinwiddie County including Darvils, McKenney, Church Road, Ford, Sutherland, Wilsons, DeWitt, Ammon, and Carson. 

What is Reckless Driving?

There are many varieties of reckless driving  in Virginia, but the most prevalent is Virginia Code § 46.2-862 Exceeding speed limit.  This statute defines reckless driving as:

A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

The speed limit on Interstate 85 through the entirety of Brunswick County is 70 miles per hour.  Therefore, according to the statute going as little as 11 miles per hour over the speed limit can result in a conviction for reckless driving.  However, Trey Mattox also sees a fair number of traditional reckless driving tickets, 20 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, from those traveling on 58. 

The Reckless Driving Statutes

There are 14 different variations of reckless driving in Virginia.  The following is a list of the various reckless driving statutes:

·      § 46.2-852 Reckless driving; general rule

·      § 46.2-853 Driving vehicle which is not under control; faulty brakes.

·      § 46.2-854. Passing on or at the crest of a grade or on a curve.

·      § 46.2-855. Driving with driver's view obstructed or control impaired.

·      § 46.2-856. Passing two vehicles abreast.

·      § 46.2-857. Driving two abreast in a single lane.

·      § 46.2-858. Passing at a railroad grade crossing.

·      § 46.2-859. Passing a stopped school bus; prima facie evidence.

·      § 46.2-860. Failing to give proper signals.

·      § 46.2-861. Driving too fast for highway and traffic conditions.

·      § 46.2-862. Exceeding speed limit.

·      § 46.2-863. Failure to yield right-of-way.

·      § 46.2-864. Reckless driving on parking lots, etc.

·      § 46.2-865. Racing; penalty.

Classification and Penalties

Virginia Code § 46.2-868 dictates that reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor and therefore carries extremely serious consequences.  In Virginia, a Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious category of misdemeanors and falls just one step short of a felony.  Specifically, as a Class 1 misdemeanor, reckless driving carries a maximum one year in jail, $2500 fine, and 6 month license suspension.  Additionally,  there are many secondary consequences such as increased insurance premiums, points on your driving record, license suspensions due to accumulation of points, and failed criminal background checks.

Defending Speeding Cases

Speeding charges in Virginia can vary significantly depending on the nature of the offense.  The most severe cases are often charged as reckless driving by speed, which elevates the offense from a simple traffic infraction to a class 1 misdemeanor.  Although speeding is an infraction rather than a misdemeanor, a conviction can still carry very serious consequences.  A speeding conviction can lead to points on your driving record, high fines, license suspension, and increased insurance rates.

Trey Mattox has represented hundreds of individuals charged with speeding offenses and has an outstanding record of having those charges reduced or dismissed.  Trey regularly saves Mattox Law clients hundreds of dollars in fines and insurance premiums as well as helping to preserve driving privileges. Trey is intimately familiar with Virginia speeding laws and what is required of the officer ensuring all possible legal strategies are pursued.

DUI Representation

A conviction for a DUI in Virginia carries very extreme consequences and can often lead to time in jail.  Similar to reckless driving, a first offense DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor which has a maximum 12 months jail sentence, $2,500 fine, and 12 month license suspension.  Additionally, there are mandatory minimum sentences which must be enforced by the judge upon conviction of an elevated DUI.  A DUI can become elevated due to the defendant's blood alcohol content and previous DUI convictions.  There are too many scenarios to list here, but I would invite you to contact me so that we can discuss your case and whether any of these factors would apply to your case.

Trey analyzes each case with extreme care in order to bring to light any possible defenses which can be used in trial.  This careful analysis can become important not only at trial but also during negotiations with the prosecutor.  There are often questionable situations in a DUI case which may not be significant enough to lead to a dismissal but can be used as leverage for a better plea agreement.  It is extremely important to contact an attorney who is willing to spend the time to go over every detail in order to get the best possible result for your case.

Dinwiddie General District Court 

Fortunately, the judge in Dinwiddie is typically good about working with individuals charged with traffic violations, and Trey is frequently able to secure a reduction.  However, this judge, like most judges, has certain peculiarities that are important to be aware of in order to obtain the best possible outcome for your case. It is extremely important to speak with a lawyer who is familiar with Dinwiddie and how the judge handles his docket.

It is also important to note that Trey Mattox has established a very good working relationships with the Dinwiddie Commonwealth’s Attorney’s office.  The Commonwealth’s Attorney or prosecutor does not typically get involved in Speeding or Reckless Driving charges; however, for more serious offense such as DUIDriving on a Suspended License, or Possession of Marijuana, the Commonwealth’s Attorney’s office plays a prominent role.  It is extremely important to choose a lawyer who is very familiar with the Commonwealth’s Attorney prosecuting your case.

There are several tasks that Trey Mattox frequently has his clients complete prior to their scheduled court date in order to ensure the best possible outcome.  Alternatively, the judge in Dinwiddie will often have additional requirements before he is willing to reduce your charge.   This judge requires each of these items to be presented in the proper form.  Failure to follow every requirement can result in a conviction.  When looking for a lawyer to represent you please be careful to speak with someone who is knowledgeable of the judge’s rules.  Please feel free to call (804) 451-6033 or email at trey@mattoxlawpc.com for additional suggestions on mitigation evidence for your Dinwiddie traffic case.

  • Community Service - Community service can be a powerful piece of mitigation evidence used to help get the best possible result in court.  In some cases a judge will order the defendant to complete community service as a requirement for a reduction of the charged offense.  On other occasions, I will advise my clients to complete community service hours proactively in order to present the best case possible.  Judges have differing standards when it comes to community services.  Most if not all judges will be satisfied with your community service hours if completed according to the following guidelines.  First, the community service must be completed for a non-profit organization.  However, many judges adhere to strict prohibitions against doing community services for any school, church, or any other organization you are currently associated with. 
  • Driving School - Completion of a defensive driving course can be very valuable to the defense of a reckless driving charge.  Often completing the course prior to your scheduled court date can be a useful tool to get the best possible outcome for your case.  You must also be careful you choose the correct driving school for your individual case.  Driving courses can range in length from six hours up to twelve hours.  You must also be sure that driving school is the correct tool for your case.  Judges can differ significantly when it comes to the value they will place on driving school.  Some judges refuse to order defendants to take driving school, some will only use driving school for exceptional cases, and others rely solely on driving school as a means of reducing reckless driving charges.  
  • Speedometer Calibration - Speedometer calibrations are often the single most important piece of evidence I present while defending reckless driving cases.  It is extremely important to have your vehicle properly calibrated in order to ensure that it is admissible in court and can be as beneficial as possible to the outcome of your case.  It is essential to select the right shop with the correct equipment.  You will want to take your vehicle to a shop with a dynamometer or “dyno.”  In essence a dynamometer is a devise used to test the accuracy of your vehicles speedometer, among other functions.  The technician will put your vehicle on the dynamometer and measure what your speedometer is reading as compared to the actual wheel speed of your vehicle in order to determine how accurate your speedometer is. 

If you have been pulled over in Dinwiddie County please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.  Trey Mattox offer free consultations and is available by phone (804) 451-6033 or email treymattox@gmail.com. Alternatively, you may submit your information using the boxes on the right hand side. 

Dinwiddie General and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Combined Courts 

Clerk
Ms Lisa G. Christopher

 Phone/Fax
Phone: (804) 469-4533
Fax: (804) 469-5383

Clerk's Office Hours
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Address
P. O. Box 280
Dinwiddie Courthouse
Dinwiddie, VA 23841-0280

General District Judges

  • Hon. Mayo K. Gravatt, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Robert Beman Beasley Jr.
  • Hon. Ray P. Lupold III

Continuance Policy
Continuances granted by Judge on motion.

Dinwiddie Case Results

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I Take My Vehicle To Have The Speedometer Calibrated?; Should I Take An 8-Hour or 12-Hour Defensive Driving Course?What Is Defective Equipment?Why Was I Convicted Of Improper Driving And What Does That Mean Now?; Why Am I Charged With Reckless Driving If I Was Not Driving Recklessly?Sussex, Virginia Speeding LawyerHow Will My Status In The Military Effect My Reckless Driving Or Speeding Traffic Case?Will Requesting A Continuance Have An Impact On My Case?What Is An Appropriate Place To Complete Community Service?