How Do I Pull My Driving Record?

The judges, in Virginia, always want to see your driving record for the past five years. This means you will need to pull a record for every state you have been licensed in for the past five years. In some cases, I can pull my clients records for them. It all depends on the judge reviewing their case and the state(s) the client has been licensed in for the past five yearsCheck out this link and scroll down to find your state(s) and click "Driving Record." The link for each state will take you directly to where you need to go to pull your record or you can always go in person to your local DMV/MVA. It is important that the record comes from the state's respective DMV/MVA, as some judges will not accept third party records.

Most states you will have to create an account by entering your drivers license number and date of birth. It is important to start this process as soon as possible because some states like New Jersey will require you to request a PIN that is sent out by mail before you can obtain your driving record. This can take up to 2 weeks.

The judges do not require the record to be a certified copy so, the non-certified is fine. You just need to be sure that it shows the past five years of your driving history. This means if your state only offers a 3-year or 7-year record, you will need to request the 7-year record. Be sure when sending me your driving record, you send in all pages. Most states, the last page will say "End of Transmission."

The driving record is often our best mitigation evidence to negotiate a reduction or even a dismissal.  Please do not hesitate to give me a call (804)-451-6033 or email (trey@mattoxlawpc.com) to discuss pulling your driving record.