Why Would My License be Suspended?

A license suspension can be extremely devastating in today’s mobile society.  We rely on our license for everyday tasks including work, school, shopping, and appointments.  Having your license suspended can cause major issues for both yourself, as well as, family and friends who are often relied upon for carrying out even the most routine of errands.

license_suspended.jpg

Why is my license suspended?

There are three primary reasons your license or privilege to drive in Virginia may be suspended. Below, I will outline each potential reason:

 

Failure to Pay Fines and Court Costs

More often than not when I have a client with a suspended license it was because they failed to pay their fines and/or court costs on time.  For most traffic cases in Virginia, the court will give you 30-days to pay your fines and court costs.  If your fines and court costs are not paid within the 30-day period, your license or privilege to drive in Virginia will be suspended indefinitely.  On top of paying the fines and costs to the court, you will now owe a reinstatement fee to the Virginia DMV as well. However, this rule is coming in to question as the Department of Justice has 'agreed' this practice is unconstitutional. Check out the story here.

Court Ordered License Suspensions

Depending on the offense you were charged with, the court may have the direct authority to suspend your driver’s license.  For the court to have authority to suspend your license, you must be charged with a misdemeanor.  A simple traffic infraction like speeding does not carry the possibility of a license suspension.  However, more serious offenses, such as reckless driving, do carry the possibility of a license suspension upon conviction.

Accumulation of Points

The Virginia DMV has mandated that the accumulation of a sufficient number of points will result in a suspension of your driver’s license.  There are really two categories determining when and how your license will be suspended.

1.     Drivers under Age 18

Drivers who are under the age of 18 are required to complete a driver improvement clinic if they have committed a demerit point traffic violation.  You will have 90 days to complete the diver improvement clinic or your license will be suspended.  Thereafter, a second demerit point traffic violation will result in a 90-day license suspension.  Finally, a third conviction will result in your privilege to drive in Virginia being suspended for one year or until you turn 18, whichever is longer.

2.     Age 18 and Older

Upon the accumulation of 12 points within 12 months or 18 points within 24 months, DMV will require the completion of a driver improvement clinic.  The DMV will then suspend your license if you do not complete the driver improvement clinic within 90 days.  Upon the accumulation of 18 points within 12 months or 24 points within 24 months DMV will suspend your driving privilege for 90 days and require that you complete a driver improvement clinic.